Incumbents unopposed in key Waco-area May 4 elections


Incumbents seeking reelection to the Waco City Council and the Waco and Midway school boards face no challengers so far as the Friday filing deadline for the May 4 election approaches.

In the Waco City Council races, Andrea Barefield of District 1 and Josh Borderud of District 3 were unopposed as of Monday evening, while District 5 Council Member Jim Holmes was the sole candidate so far in the race to succeed departing Mayor Dillon Meek.

Filing ends at 5 p.m. Friday for candidates in a multitude of city and school races on May 4.

Hewitt and Bellmead also report no contested races, while Woodway has a single contested race to date. Ward 2, Place 1 incumbent Council Member Storey Cook is facing a challenge from Andrea Rossfeld. Ward 3 incumbent Council Member Gayle Avant is unopposed so far in his bid for reelection.

People are also reading…

In Hewitt, incumbent Mayor Steve Fortenberry has filed for reelection to the Ward 3 seat, while incumbent Johnny Stephens seeks reelection to his Ward 1 seat. No one has filed for the Ward 2 seat held by Johnny Price.

In Bellmead, incumbent Precinct 3 Council Member James Cleveland and at-large member Gary Moore have filed for reelection without opponents. Warren “Tommy” Bainbridge has filed for the Precinct 4 seat held by current Mayor Jasmine Neal.

The debut election for the McLennan Central Appraisal District board will see some competition, with four candidates filing for three elected positions in the May 4 election.

David Schleicher, Linda Hatchel, John Kinnaird III and Dennis DeGraff have filed for the seats. The top three vote-getters will join the board’s five previously appointed members.

Races are also quiet for the two largest school districts in McLennan County.

The Waco Independent School District school board has received filings only from incumbent trustees in three seats: Jeremy Davis in District 1, Stephanie Korteweg in District 2 and Keith Guillory in an at-large position.

Midway ISD incumbents Brad Alford in Place 4 and Colin Witt in Place 3 are unopposed to date in their reelection bids.

La Vega ISD at-large trustees Myron Ridge and the Rev. Larry Carpenter also have no challengers yet as they seek reelection.

Elections Administrator Jared Goldsmith demonstrates the new voting process as the McLennan County Elections Office is rolling out new voting equipment ahead of the May 6 election, featuring hand-marked ballots and self-scanning machinery. (April 2023)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *